Information about Sao Tomé and Principe

São Tomé and Príncipe

República Democrática de São Tomé e Príncipe

  • Official language Portuguese
  • Capital São Tomé
  • Government system Semi-presidential democracy
  • Head of State H.E. President Manuel Pinto da Costa
  • Head of Government H.E. Prime Minister Gabriel Arcanjo da Costa
  • Foreign Minister H. E. Urbino Botelho
  • Area 1.001 km²
  • Population 200.000
  • Population density 167 inhabitants per km²
  • Gross domestic product US $ 191 million
  • Currency Dobra (ST)
  • Independence 12 June 1975 (from Portugal)
  • National anthem Independência total

Sao Tome and Principe, Portuguese “São Tomé e Príncipe” is an island state in the Gulf of Guinea, about 200 km off the coast of Africa west of Equatorial Guinea and Gabon. The island of São Tomé is named after Saint Thomas; Príncipe is the “island of the prince” (or: the “prince”).

Geography and climate

São Tomé and Príncipe is the second smallest state in Africa after the Seychelles. The two islands are located between the islands Bioko and Annobón, which are part of Equatorial Guinea.

Over 90 percent of the population live on the southern, larger island of São Tomé, which is 48 kilometers long and 32 kilometers wide. It is the more mountainous of the two islands. The highest elevation

point is 2024 meters. São Tomé is the capital of the same name. The northern, smaller island of Príncipe is about 16 kilometers long and six kilometers wide; its highest elevation measures 927 meters.

Both islands are part of a chain of mountains along the Cameroon route, which continues on the African continent in Cameroon. In São Tomé and Príncipe the volcanoes are no longer active.

The southern tip of São Tomé is just two kilometers north of the equator, the island of Rólas is crossed directly by the equator.

In São Tomé and Príncipe, the mountainous topography affects hot and humid tropical climate with rain and dry weather. The temperature has hardly any seasonal fluctuations; the average annual temperature is 28 ° C on the coast, 20 ° C in the country. The annual rainfall ranges from 1000 mm in the northern lowland to 5000 mm in the southwestern mountain slopes. The rainy season lasts from October to May.